Fairy Tail Anime!

Ever since I began reading this awesome manga I knew it could follow in the footsteps of great series like One Piece and Naruto and now… the long awaited anime is out! I just finished watching the first two episodes last night and will probably end up re-watching them with friends. So far they’ve lived up to all of my hopes. Here is a brief summary of Fairy Tail:

“Lucy is a 17-year-old girl, who wants to be a full-fledged mage. One day when visiting Harujion Town, she meets Natsu, a young man who gets sick easily by any type of transportation. But Natsu isnt just any ordinary kid, he’s a member of one of the world’s most infamous mage guilds: Fairy Tail.”

Here is the opening song!

Just imagine what the One Piece world would have been life if instead of an era of pirates, it was an era of mages. The world runs on every day magic, charms sold in stores, and any decent mage a member of guild of varying respectability. Fairy Tail is among the most notorious of these guilds–filled with powerful (but sometimes trouble-some) mages. Full of life and good humor and intentions, it’s easy to love this guild and it’s members.

While easy to compare to One Piece, it stands solidly on its own. Very memorable and easy to love characters, it’s full of humor, action, drama, magic, and heart. While I find Natsu’s expressions as endearing as Luffy’s, I think his personality’s a bit cooler (at least when he’s not suffering motion sickness which is just funny). I adore Natus’ rival, Gray, and find is unconscious habit of stripping a constant source of amusement… Even more amusing is when these two fight. I suppose fire and ice just were never meant to get along. πŸ™‚

From what I remember, the first two episodes are following the manga very closely. Nothing to gripe about. Characters translated well and are fun to see come to life. I’m really enjoying the color pallet and animation.

If you’ve put off reading the manga, now’s a great time to start watching the anime! So what are you waiting for?

6 Responses

  1. I’ve heard so many good comments about Fairy Tail anime that i think i’l just have to start watching it. I’m a bit concerned about one thing tho. You made some comparisons with One Piece and the problem is that i’ve tryed watching One Piece a few times now and i found it sooo broing that i just couldn’t get passed the first few episodes.
    However, reading your review, Fairy Tail got my attention and a world of mages sounds a whole lot better than a world of pirates. πŸ˜€
    I’m going to put Fairy Tail on my “plan to watch” list. πŸ˜€

    • Oh don’t be scared off if you weren’t able to get into One Piece. I think Fairy Tail is a little more… approachable? The artwork is great and a little less crazy or unique that One Piece can be, and it jumps into the main characters pretty quickly where One Piece takes an entire plot arc to get a new crew member and its these characters in my opinion that make it so fun to watch. Plus, a theme with mages is always cool.

      Did you watch the uncut Japanese for One Piece? The dub sent shivers of horror and laughter down my spine and I ranted after every episode I tortured myself enough to watch. I’m a die-hard One Piece fan and I’m at around episode 330 and would be happy if the series never ended. I was a bit reluctant to like One Piece in the beginning… okay okay, I made faces and asked the guy who made us watch it in bewilderment why he wasted money buying it (and a bootleg at first). But all it took were some honest giggles and giving a chance to get to know the characters and look forward to their adventures.

      It’s true that One Piece sometimes can be an acquired taste and might not appeal to anyone, it’s just hard to imagine from my perspective. My dad’s even watched a lot of the series (over a hundred episodes) and loved it, even with the horrible bootleg subtitles I had at the time and me reading them aloud for him! This is turning into a One Piece spiel so I’ll try to shut up now =3

      Look forward to seeing what you think of Fairy Tale!

  2. I really really tryed to watch One Piece but everything was so… I dunno, i mean when i first saw Luffy i was like: “What the heck is this?” I actually thought it was a joke and i thought the fact that it was ranked first on many forums was just a bad dream. πŸ˜€ I don’t know if i’ll ever be able to watch One Piece. I haven’t seen anything else from One Piece besides the first few episodes of the anime, but i definetly run from all dubbed animes. They sound really… horrifying! πŸ˜€
    However, Fairy Tail does sound very interesting and i will watch it. Still, i have to finish Mission-E now that i’m done with 07-Ghost. I’ll definetly write reviews on both Mission-E and Fairy Tail as soon as i finish them. πŸ™‚

    • LOL that was exactly my first impression of Luffy too, but now I he’s one of my favorite anime characters. I think you just got stuck on the beginning episodes.

      If you want to accurately judge if you’d like the series, perhaps try to watch the fourth movie or maybe the sixth. It’ll give a good taste of the essence of One Piece without having to watching 20-50 episodes. Other than how many crew members they have at the time, the stories stand completely on their own and then you only wasted an hour and a half if you didn’t like it. =)

  3. Hmmm… I really don’t know what to say. I just can’t think that i’d like it. And i also have a temper problem. If i don’t like it from the start, i’ll definetly hate it forever. πŸ˜€
    I’m sure One Piece has “something” about it that makes it so popular, but i just can’t see myself watching it. It was pretty much the same with Elfen Lied. Everybody on different forums and blogs praise Elfen Lied. I really didn’t like it that much. The theme song is indeed awesome, but… Anywayz, i did watch it until the end because there weren’t so many episodes. πŸ˜€ However, One Piece has so many that it will take me a looong time to get to see it all. I’ll have to think about this serioussly. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

