Watch Anime Music Videos

Anime music videos, or rather AMVs, to me are the spice of life to an already entertaining hobby. Throughout the years they’ve broadened my taste in both anime and music, and one of the funnest things to share with a friend or one of the easiest ways to get someone interested in an anime. I wonder how many people got interested in the anime “Princess Tutu” just because of this awesome AMV that portrays how good it actually can be?

Or Mushi-shi, a little known but gem among anime.

Or just make someone laugh.

Okay, enough spamming the post with AMVS. Trust me, I have over 30 GB of downloaded AMVs on my computer and have enough favorites to occupy hours of one’s life. Perhaps I’ll post some favorites from time to time, and yes I have made some of them in the past (shameless plug). So what is my point? To watch AMVs? Most anime fans are aware of Anime Music Videos already, at least they are impossible to avoid at most anime cons.

My gripe is watching them on Youtube. Yes they’re easy to find (plus convenient for blogs) and the quality HAS improved with their implementation of high quality videos. BUT I must encourage fans to look into AnimeMusicVideos.org – the ultimate AMV website. Nearly every AMV ever made is listed in its database by its creator, and 95% of them can be downloaded.

Reasons to sign up (yes you need to be a member to download and watch AMVS, but it’s free and takes seconds so no excuses).

  • The Ultimate AMV Community
  • Advanced search [search by title, music, anime, genre, keywords and more]
  • Want to create your own AMVS? They have the best resources and tutorials by the experts.
  • Find top quality videos! Browse popularity, top videos in any category and time span, as well as star ratings.
  • The user-made banners on top – because they’re hilarious or cool looking and change on every page. Yes this is less important but I still love them..
  • AMVs are uploaded by the one who created it! Unlike most cases on youtube, you’re not commenting to a stranger who uploaded a favorite video. You’re feedback goes directly to the source. Doesn’t that make you feel good inside?
  • Input and cool information about the AMV. See exactly what anime were used, which song and by what artist, any awards won, as well as detailed comments by the one who made it. What was their inspiration, is there any kind of back story? Sometimes they post the lyrics as well.
  • Opinions and Ratings – Give a detailed opinion, rate the AMV based on originality, video/audio quality, action synch, effects, lip synching, and more! Too lazy? Immediate after download or watching, you can give a star rating and a quick comment.
  • Preview and watch online! No excuse now. They recently made it so nearly all their AMVs can be previewed (or streamed live) by all its members.Β  Actually, this one new feature I discovered the other day is what spawned this post to begin with.

9 Responses

  1. Well if it’s with no excuses, i’ll be sure to check it out when i get home. πŸ˜€ Unfortunatedly, my work doesn’t allow me to listen to music all the time and also, my co-workers start yelling when they realise that they’re listening to anime music. πŸ˜€
    But i will check it out !

    • Haha I’ve subjected my co-workers to AMVs. But I work with all guys and have no pity for them (they’ll bring up worse on their computers). Most of the music isn’t Japanese but regular music, and they don’t need to look at the screen plus there’s always headphones. But if those rules are in place than definitely, just check it out when you get home! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh i have to share a room with a guy and a girl and they are yelling all the time speaking on the phone and sometimes i must do the same. The room is pretty small so you can imagine what kind of chaos is here every single day. πŸ˜€
    My girl co-worker attempted to watch the first Death Note movie, but she said she could only watch the first 10 minutes or so. They are so not into Japanese stuff. πŸ˜€
    One more hour and i’m off home!

    • Awe I have a method. Sometimes I can spike their interest with AMVs but there’s usually at least one or two anime you can find that someone would like.

      One younger teen who had no interest in anime or Japan and has a short attention span (he was over our house so much it was like having a younger brother)–after years somehow I got him to play the One Piece video game and that led to watching One Piece and now he’s hooked on anime and everything that goes with it.

      Another girl friend of mine (best friends in the past but we have totally different interests). Knowing her, I got her to watch a more shoujo/romance type anime that she ended up liking. I think it can really depend on their tastes and personality. I discovered I can get my mom to watch an anime if it’s more slice of life or has more realistic characters and feel to it. Where as the other guy I keep it to shounen, action, and comedy types. Just have to have a feel for what they’d like.

  3. If only it was that easy… They totally reject the idea of watching animes. They don’t understand that it’s something anyone can watch. They just relate them to childish stuff… However, i didn’t bother much to try to convince them. I just keep telling them: “Oh, last night i saw another episode of 07 Ghost!” or “I’ve just watched Special A again!” or stuff like that and then i start telling them what they were about. Now they’ve started knowing a few things about all this, but i doubt they’ll ever try actually watching one. It’s their loss anywayz. πŸ˜€

  4. I’ve signed up to Anime Music Videos but it will take some time to get used to it. However, it does look great. πŸ˜€

    • Hope you enjoy it! If you don’t know where to start, you can always browse the top video lists. If you find an amv you like, you can click the editor’s name to see what others they’ve made or a list of their favorite AMVs.

  5. I’ll be sure to do that. Right after i’ve signed up i was really lost there. Didn’t have a clue where to go next! πŸ˜€ But i’ll get the hang of it. I didn’t have much time because i just had to finish 07-Ghost and it was absolutelly great! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

